Council for PhD Education at SLU (Fur)

Last changed: 22 January 2024

The council for PhD education (Fur) deals with strategic issues concerning doctoral education at SLU.

The duties of Fur are to handle general strategic issues intended to support, coordinate, stimulate and develop doctoral education. Fur should also help develop the quality of doctoral education from both a national and an international perspective, as well as improve cooperation for the efficient use of resources within doctoral education. 

Fur submits proposals for decisions by the vice-chancellor and SLU Board. 

  Upcoming Fur meetings 2024

  •   11 March 13.00-16.00 (IRL Ultuna)
  •   3 June 13.00-16.00 (Zoom)
  •   12 September 10.00-16.00 (IRL Workshop Ultuna)
  •   12 December 09.00-12.00 (Zoom)

The notice and meeting documents are normally made available to the members 7 days (5 working days) before the meeting.

Search for and read minutes from Fur meetings. 



Composition of Fur

Fur is composed of the vice-chancellor or a member appointed by the vicechancellor (chair), a member or deputy of the faculty board or a vice-dean from each faculty, and four members appointed by Sluss. The composition and duties are goverened by the vice-chancellors delegation of authority. The doctoral student representatives are appointed by Sluss.  The faculties’ directors of studies for doctoral education are entitled to attend and speak at Fur meetings. 

Members up to and including 31 March 2025

  • Ylva Hillbur, pro vice-chancellor, chair
  • Åsa Lankinen, vice dean, LTV Faculty
  • Petra Fransson, vice dean, NJ Faculty
  • Göran Spong, vice dean, S Faculty
  • Henrik Rönnberg, vice dean, VH Faculty
  • Poorva Sundara Rajan, doctoral student, LTV Faculty
  • Agnes af Sandeberg, doctoral student, NJ Faculty
  • Antonia Hartmann, doctoral student, S Faculty
  • Ashwath Gaudhaman, doctoral student, VH Faculty

Entitled to attend and speak

  • Monika Appel, doctoral student ombudsman
  • Lotta Jäderlund, sectretary
  • Eva Stening, sectretary
  • Adrien Kroese, Sluss DN
  • Elisabet Lewan, director of studies, NJ Faculty
  • Robert Glinwood, director of studies, NJ Faculty
  • Åsa Klintborg Ahlklo, director of studies, LTV Faculty
  • Helene Larsson Jönsson, director of studies, LTV Faculty
  • Carl-Gustaf Thulin, director of studies, VH Faculty

Each faculty member must also have a personal deputy who is appointed by the vice-chancellor following proposals from the deans. A vice-chancellor decision from 20 April 2022 shows the deputies for each faculty member (in Swedish). 

Additional persons could be granted the right to attend and speak at Fur meetings after contact with the secretary. 

Read more about the tasks of Fur in the vice-chancellor's delegation of authority. 


For more information about Fur's work, please contact the Fur secretariat at