Working hours

Last changed: 10 April 2024
Clock, photo

At SLU, there are three principal working hours agreements: office hours, annual working time for teachers and researchers, and the list agreement.

Office hours

This agreement applies to staff who work office hours, that is normally daytime only Monday to Friday. Depending on the place of work, some staff have the option of using flexitime.

Reduction in hours for staff working office hours

  • Twelfth Night: 4 hours
  • Maundy Thursday: 2 hours
  • 30 April: 4 hours
  • The day before All Saints’ Day: 4 hours
  • If the Swedish National Day falls on a Saturday or Sunday, staff working regular office hours get leave the preceding Friday.

Annual working time for teachers and researchers

For teachers and researchers at SLU, there is a working hours agreement providing for annual working time for these two categories of staff. The same rules apply to doctoral students and teaching assistants.

List agreement

For staff who regularly work evenings and weekends, there is an agreement called the list agreement. It applies primarily to animal nursing staff and those involved in agricultural fieldwork.

Local collective bargaining agreements on working hours

All local collective bargaining agreements on working hours are available on the page Lokala kollektivavtal (in Swedish only).

Additional hours

If you work part-time but are ordered to work additional hours, up to the number of hours corresponding to a full-time position, you will be paid compensation. This corresponds to 1/142 of a full month’s pay per hour, or compensatory leave corresponding to the additional hours worked.

It is not allowed to work more than 175 additional hours annually.


Overtime must either be required in advance or approved afterwards. It is compensated by paying a supplement or granting compensatory leave.

Compensatory leave:

  • Simple overtime: 1.5 times the overtime hours worked
  • Qualified overtime: 2 times the overtime hours worked  

Overtime supplement:

Simple overtime:              individual monthly pay

Qualified overtime:            individual monthly pay

Simple overtime is any overtime not defined as qualified overtime according to the criteria below.

Qualified overtime is overtime hours worked:

  • between 19.00 on a Friday and 07.00 on a Monday;
  • between 19.00 on a day before Epiphany, 1 May or Ascencion Thursday and 07.00 the following weekday;
  • between 19.00 on Maundy Thursday and 07.00 the day after Easter Monday;
  • between 19.00 the day before Pentecost, Midsummer’s Eve, Christmas Eve or New Year’s Eve, and 07.00 the first weekday after that day;
  • between 22.00 and 06.00. 

Overtime supplement is not paid for a period shorter than 14 consecutive minutes.  

Overtime supplement can be paid for a maximum of 150 hours per calender year. The total number of additional hours and overtime hours combined may not exceed 200 hours per calendar year.


HR Unit, Division of Human Resources