The SLU Board

Last changed: 13 January 2023

The SLU Board has 15 members. Eight of them are appointed by the government, three are elected by the teacher/researcher electoral assembly, and three are appointed by the Joint Committee of Student Unions at SLU (Sluss). The vice-chancellor is also a board member. The members appointed by the government all have a professional background from other public authorities including higher education institutions, businesses and major organisations.

The current board took up office on 1 May 2020 and will serve for three years. The vice-chancellor's term of office expires on 30 June 2025. The Joint Committee of Student Unions at SLU appoints three student representatives whose term of office is normally two years.

Members appointed by the Swedish government

  • Agronomist Rolf Brennerfelt (chair)
  • Vice-Chancellor Maria Knutson Wedel
  • Professor Per Cramér
  • Executive Director Kristin Danielsen
  • County Director Susanna Löfgren
  • former County Governor Maria Norrfalk (deputy chair)
  • Farmer Bengt Persson
  • former Director-General Lena Söderberg
  • Professor Yngvild Wasteson

Members elected by teaching staff and researchers

  • Professor Lotta Berg
  • Senior Lecturer Karin Hakelius
  • Senior Lecturer Göran Spong

Members appointed by the student unions

  • Ida Segesten, Sluss chair
  • Carl Lehto, doctoral student
  • Clara Hernblom, 1st advisor, Sluss

Board meetings

The board generally has six meetings every year. Letters to the board should be sent to

Meeting dates February 2022 - April 2023

  • Friday 18 February 2022, Uppsala
  • Wednesday 27 April 2022, Alnarp
  • Wednesday 15 - Thursday 16 June 2022, Nova Park Hotel, Knivsta
  • Wednesday 28 September 2022, Norwegian University of Life Sciences
  • Tuesday 8 November 2022, Zoom
  • Thursday 15 December 2022, Uppsala
  • Monday 20 February 2023, Uppsala
  • Thursday 27 April 2023, Uppsala