Boards and committees

Last changed: 13 May 2024

The faculty's decision-making body is the faculty board. The board is supported by several advisory and preparatory committees.

Members of the faculty board are elected by the electoral assembly, while members of the other committees are appointed by the faculty board or dean. See the faculty´s delegation of authority.

The committees are the faculty's coordinating body for their different areas of responsibility.

Faculty Board

Term of office: 1 January 2022 - 31 December 2024

Rauni Niskanen
018-671607, 073-0761356

Dirk-Jan de Koning
Deputy Dean
018-67 20 39

Vice deans

Term of office: 1 April 2022 - 31 Mars 2025

Johanna Penell, vice dean for education on Bachelor's and Master's level.

Renée Båge, vice dean for external cooperation.

Henrik Rönnberg, vice dean for doctoral education and gender equality and equal opportunities.

Johan Dicksved, vice dean for research infrastructure.


Anne-Lie Blomström
Department of Animal Biosciences

Johan Bröjer
Department of Clinical Sciences

Stefan Gunnarsson
Department of Applied Animal Science and Welfare

Ingrid Ljungvall
Department of Clinical Sciences

Johanna Penell
Department of Clinical Sciences

Eva Sandberg
Department of Animal Biosciences


Julia Bergholm
doctoral student

Tova Franzén
President, Ultuna studentkår (ULS)

Caitlin Sandström
President, Veterinärmedicinska föreningen (VMF)

1st Substitute

Anders Kiessling
Department of Applied Animal Science and Welfare

2nd Substitute


Employees' organisation representatives

Malin Hagberg Gustavsson, Saco

Frida Dahlström, ST

Peter Wickman, Seko

Other boards

The Academic Appointments Board (LFN-VH)

End of term: June 30, 2025

Chair: Rauni Niskanen  Secretary: Eva Enström och Emelie Hodell
Members: Dirk-Jan de Koning, Mikael Berg, Katarina Nostell 
Substitutes: Göran Andersson, Albin Gräns, Jens Häggström, Anna Skarin, Sara Wernersson

The Docent Appointment Board (DN-VH)

End of term: March 31, 2025

Chair: Stefan Gunnarsson Secretary: Sarah Hedenskog
Members: Mårten Hetta, Lena Holm, Lena Olsén
Substitutes: Maria Andersson, Emma Ivarsson, Sofia Mikko, Stefan Örn

The PhD Education Board (Fun-VH)

End of term: March 31, 2025

Send applications and documents to:

Chair: Henrik Rönnberg Secretary: Anette Wichman
Members: Cecilia Ley, Erika Roman, Inger Lilliehöök, Mikaela Lindberg
Substitute: Martin Johnsson

Director of Studies for postgraduate education: Carl-Gustaf Thulin

Programme board for education in Veterinary Medicine and Animal Scienc (PN-VH)

End of term: March 31, 2025

Chair: Johanna Penell  Secretary: Karin Camp
Members: Jeanette Hansson, Katja Nilsson, Eva Sandberg 
Substitutes: Odd Höglund, Anna Bergh

Directors of Studies 


Members and duties for each committee are decided according to the Faculty's Delegations of authoryity.

The Scholarships Committee 

End of term: March 31, 2025

Chair: Henrik Rönnberg Secretary: Kristina Jungnelius 
Members: Elisabeth Rajala, Kerstin Hansson

The Farm Animals Committee

End of term: March 31, 2025

Chair: Stefan Gunnarsson Secretary: Gun Bernes

Branch representative:

  • Milk: Mikaela Lindberg
  • Pig: Anna Wallenbeck
  • Beef and lamb: Anna Hessle
  • Poultry: Stefan Gunnarsson
  • Sheep/goat: Gun Bernes

External member with focus on finance and business management: Per Hansson

The Horse Committee

End of term: March 31, 2025

Chair: Marie Rhodin Secretary: Anna-Lena Holgersson
Members: Elke Hartmann, Cecilia Müller, Maria Vilain Rørvang, Ove Wattle, Gabriella Lindgren, Eva Tyden

The Small Animals Committee

End of term: March 31, 2025

Chair: Bodil Ström Holst Secretary: Odd Höglund
Members: Tomas Bergström, Ingrid Hansson, Katja Höglund, Lena Olsén

SLU Committee for Global Animal Diseases (CGD)

End of term: March 31, 2025

Chair: Jonas Johansson Wensman
Members: Mikael Berg, Sofia Boqvist, Ulf Magnusson, Susanna Sternberg Lewerin, Jean-Francois Valarcher

The Cooperation Committee

End of term: March 31, 2025

Chair: Renée Båge Secretary: Gun Bernes
Members: Senior lecturers with special responsibility for extension

The Equal Opportunities Committee

End of term: March 31, 2025

Chair: Henrik Rönnberg Secretary: Malin Ekström Members: Maria Andersson, Tomas Bergström, Maja Malmberg, Carl-Gustaf Thulin

Committe for Environmental monitoring and assessment

End of term: March 31, 2025

Chair: Johan Dicksved Members: Coordinators: Gunnar Carlsson and Anna-Karin Dahlberg

Nomination committee

End of term: April 30, 2027

Members Substitutes
Eva Tyden, chair Marie Rhodin
Mia Svensson, vice-chair Margareta Uhlhorn
Tomas Bergström Anna Maria Johansson
Katarina Nostell Lena Ström
Björn Ekesten Karin Alvåsen
Torun Wallgren Helena Wall
Mårten Hetta Rebecca Danielsson


The nomination committee also includes a member appointed by Sluss and a personal substitute.