Jump to main content

Bioinformatics and systems biology

Bioinformatics is an interdisciplinary field that develops methods and software tools for understanding biological data. As an interdisciplinary field of science, bioinformatics combines computer science, statistics, mathematics, and engineering to analyze and interpret biological data. Systems biology is the computational and mathematical modeling of complex biological systems. 


There are 58 pages tagged with Bioinformatics and systems biology:

Nhat Ton Nguyen

nhat.ton.nguyen@slu.se Ph.D. student at the Microbial Ecology Division, Department of Aquatic Sciences and Assessment. My research will focus on microbial response to organic matter in

Jay Håkansson

jay.hakansson@slu.se Research assistant who uses and developes computational tools to investigate the diversity of freshwater-living microbes. I'm passionate about how to use and develop new tools

Fotis Pappas

fotis.pappas@slu.se Doctoral student in Statistical Genetics and Epigenetics The main focal point of my PhD project is linked to identifying possible epigenetic risk factors for decreased fertility

Åsa Ohlsson

asa.ohlsson@slu.se In my research I mainly focus on the genetic reasons behind heart disease in cats, but I do not limit myself to that. I like to lecture to both students and breeders on the

Sara Frosth

sara.frosth@slu.se I am a doctoral biotechnologist with an interest in veterinary bacteriology, molecular biology, bioinformatics, protein technology, vaccinology and more! I did my doctoral work on

A global observatory to monitor biodiversity

At a time of unprecedented decline in Earth’s biodiversity, scientists are calling for a new system for monitoring and providing the data needed for decision making and conservation action. Earth’s

Naike Schwenner

naike.schwenner@slu.se I am in the group of Structural Biology in the Department of Molecular Sciences. Here I analyze the catalytic mechanisms and substrate specifies of carbohydrate-active enzymes

Grace Pold

grace.pold@slu.se I am a microbiologist and currently associate senior lecturer in Soil Nutrient Cycling. My research uses a combination of cultivation, bioinformatics, and modeling to understand

Andreas Schneider

andreas.schneider@slu.se My main interest are the fungal communities in boreal forest soils and tree roots, both on a smaller, local scale but also in connection to larger biogeochemical processes.

Edoardo Piombo

edoardo.piombo@slu.se I am a bioinformatician skilled in data mining and visualization. I have experience in working with high-throughput sequencing data coming from genome, transcriptome or

Tamlyn Gangiah

tamlyn.gangiah@slu.se I am a PhD student in the Soil Biology research group. I am passionate about scientific research that intersects between molecular biology, microbiology, bioinformatics, and

Lizel Potgieter

lizel.potgieter@slu.se Bioinformatician with SLUBI (slubi.se) and the Department of Plant Breeding in Alnarp BI1296: Plant Biology for Protection and Breeding, M.Sc. course - every spring P000030:

Loading…