The Nomination Committees

Last changed: 12 July 2021

The Nomination Committee is appointed following an internal process within each faculty where those entitled to vote may nominate persons.

The nomination committees must be appointed no later than 15 May and take office on 1 June of the year in which the faculty boards are to be elected. 2021 is one such year. The nomination committees that have just taken office are thus appointed until 31 May 2024.

The faculties' nomination committees consist of five or seven people, including the chairman and vice-chairman.

The main task of a faculty's nomination committee is to submit proposals for members, including the chairman (dean) and vice-chairman (vice-dean) and two deputies to the faculty board. The faculty boards have eleven members (ten for LTV), three of whom are students. It is the other eight (for LTV seven) members who will be elected in the autumn of 2021.

The Nomination Committee shall invite all those entitled to vote at the faculty to nominate persons to the board and, based on these nominations and their own assessments, present a complete proposal to the faculty board. Those entitled to vote then have the opportunity to make free nominations in addition, which must be entered on the ballot paper if the nominee accepts the nomination. The dean and vice-dean are appointed by the Vice-Chancellor on the basis of proposals from those entitled to vote. The new faculty boards will take office on 1 January 2022 with a term of three years. The faculties themselves decide which functions are to exist with deputy deans and other roles.

In order to best solve its task, it is important that the nomination committee has good knowledge of the faculty's activities and breadth. It should also understand the Faculty Board's important role for the faculty's internal work but also for the entire university's activities.

The SLU nomination committee

The chairman and vice chairman of the faculties' nomination committees also constitute SLU's nomination committee, where the Vice-Chancellor appoints the chairman and vice chairman after discussions with the nomination committee members.

SLU's Nomination Committee has two tasks:

  1. to propose five members to the Board of Education with the same term of office as the Faculty Boards.
  2. to propose three teachers / researchers as members of the university board. This election will take place at the beginning of 2023, with effect from 1 May that year. The same definition of voting rights in the election of board members as in the election of faculty boards.