SLU news

New SLU Board appointed

Published: 03 May 2023

Last week, the government appointed new members of the SLU Board for the period 1 May 2023 to 30 September 2024. Joakim Stymne, director-general of Statistics Sweden, is the new chair.

The following were appointed members of the SLU Board:

  • Former Managing Director Hans Antonsson (new)
  • Professor Per Cramér, University of Gothenburg
  • Professor Karin Forsberg Nilsson, Uppsala Universitet (new)
  • Advisor Annika Nordgren Christensen (new)
  • Farmer Bengt Persson
  • Former Managing Director Eva Pettersson (new)
  • Professor Ritva Toivonen, University of Helsinki (new).

The SLU vice-chancellor is also a member of the board.

The government recently changed the period of office for the board of directors of higher education institutions from 3 years to 17 months, however, this is a temporary change.

In addition to the vice-chancellor and the eight members appointed by the government, the SLU Board comprises three members elected by the faculties and three members elected by the students. Saco and ST have staff representatives with the right to attend and be heard.