Jump to main content

Animal science

Animal science includes the anatomy, fysiology, behavoiur, breeding, feeding and management of animals that are under the control of humankind. The animals studied are livestock species and also companion animals like dogs and cats, and many exotic species. 


There are 88 pages tagged with Animal and dairy science:

Melania Angellotti

melania.angellotti@slu.se PhD student at the Department of Animal Nutrition and Management,working on the Project "Algae as a feed additive for reduced methane production in dairy cows". The aim

Claire Wegner

claire.wegner@slu.se PhD student at the Department of Animal Nutrition and Management. Currently studying welfare, sustainability and profitability in dairy management systems where cows and calves

Jean Pierre Mpatswenumugabo

jean.pierre.mpatswenumugabo@slu.se I am a PhD student in the Clinical Sciences Department since Feb, 2020- My research interests are mainly on Biosecurity and farm management. My main focuses are

Reindeer husbandry and forestry

Reindeer husbandry and forestry: Challenges and opportunities for shared land use teresia.borgman@slu.se STUDENT SEMINAR. There is an alarming reduction in winter pastures and in the amount of

Dannylo Sousa

dannylo.sousa@slu.se Veterinarian with interest in Animal Nutrition and Forage Quality, Conservation and Utilization. Researcher. Department of Animal Environment and Health. Swedish University of

Karin Alvåsen

karin.alvasen@slu.se Researcher at the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Animal Sciences, Department of Clinical Sciences. I work as a researcher at the Unit for Veterinary Epidemiology where I

Agnes Ortman

agnes.ortman@slu.se PhD student in economics involved in a project investigating the link between farm animal health and welfare and the economic outcomes at dairy farms. The project aims to

Lethal disorder linked to mobility in horses

In horse breeding, selection for mobility may have increased the proportion of carriers for the lethal disease Warmblood Fragile Foal Syndrome (WFFS). Foals carrying two copies of the WFFS gene

Aprajita Singh

aprajita.singh@slu.se Doctoral student at Department of animal nutrition and management. Working on Project “Alternative feed to fish: Bioactive components effect on gut microbiota, metabolism and

Jane Morrell

jane.morrell@slu.se I am a veterinary surgeon from the United Kingdom, currently employed as the Faculty professor in veterinary reproductive biotechnologies at SLU in Ultuna. I am particularly

ITP: Healthy livestock - safe food

The international training programme (ITP) Healthy livestock – safe food is now open for application. The ITP integrates animal health and food security while exploring several value chains from

Loading…