Vice-Chancellor Mårten Carlsson’s Award

Last changed: 20 February 2024

In 1995, SLU instituted Vice-Chancellor Mårten Carlsson’s Award as a homage to Professor Mårten Carlsson and his work as vice-chancellor of SLU 1982-1994.

The award “rewards excellent efforts that have promoted dialogue between society, business and SLU”.

The award is given to people working at and outside SLU. For an SLU employee to receive the award, they must have contributed efforts outside their ordinary duties. The prize money has been SEK 50,000 and is awarded every other year in connection with the doctoral degree award ceremony in autumn.


All employees at SLU can nominate candidates. A nomination consists of both a presentation of the person proposed, and a motivation for the proposal. Feel free to supplement with a CV and, if applicable, a publication list.

You have until Wednesday 1 May to send your nominations to Helena Pennlöv, see contact information below.

The SLU Medals for Distinguished Service

As a SLU employee you can also nominate someone for SLU Medals for Distinguished Service. Read here how to nominate

Recipients since 1996

2022: Philip McCleaf, Water Resources Engineer Uppsala Vatten och Avfall AB

2020: Margareta Emanuelson, SLU

2018: Agronomist Jan Larsson, SLU

2016: ex Senior Extension Specialist Per Andersson, SLU

2014: ex Nature Conservation Counsellor Torleif Ingelög, SLU

2012: Senior Extension Specialist Margareta Stigson, SLU

2010: Docent Torgny Wiederholm, SLU

2008: Professor Hans Andersson, SLU

2006: Forest Manager Roger Asserståhl

2004: Doctor of Agriculture Olle Petterson, SLU

2002: Research Group Leader Bengt Ehnström, the Swedish Species Information Centre, SLU

2000: Operations Manager Torsten Kellander, Torslunda Research Station, SLU

1998: Internet Coordinator Eva Fridman, SLU

1996: Professor Olof Bolin, SLU


Helena Pennlöv, Academy Steward

Vice-Chancellor's Office, secretariat, +4618-67 15 42