SLU news

Names & News

Published: 04 May 2018

NJ faculty May 2018

New professors

Helena Hansson has been appointed professor of economics at the Department of Economics, specialising in agricultural economics.

Seema Arora-Johansson has been appointed professor of rural development in Sweden and Europe at the Department of Urban and Rural Development.

Robert Hart has been appointed professor of environmental and natural resource economy at the Department of Economics.

New docents

- Eva Forsgren – biology
- Hanna Friberg – biology
- Astrid Taylor – biology, specialising in ecology
- Elena Minina – biology, specialising in molecular cell biology
- Bettina Müller – biology, specialising in microbiology
Summary of their docent lectures

New guest researchers

The following have been admitted to the August T. Larsson's guest researcher programme 2019–2021:

  • Michel Brett, University of Washington, USA
  • Carlos Melian, EAWAG, Center for Ecology and Evolution and Biochemistry and the Department of Fish Ecology and Evolution, Switzerland
  • Neal Williams, UC Davis, USA
  • Stephen Redpath, University of Aberdeen, UK
New emeritus professor

Erik Westholm has been appointed emeritus professor at the Department of Urban and Rural Development.

New promotor

Per-Anders Hansson has been appointed promotor and Dan Funck Jensen his deputy for the 2018 doctoral award ceremony.

In 2004, the faculty board decided that the year a prospective promotor was appointed professor determines when they can become promotor. The person appointed deputy promotor one year normally becomes promotor the following year.

New nomination committee

The following have been appointed members of the NJ Faculty's nomination committee for the period 1 June 2018–31 May 2021:
Petter Kjellander (chair), personal deputy Erik Öckinger
Vadim Kessler, personal deputy Ann-Britt Florin
Martyn Futter, personal deputy Karin Wiberg
Karin Hakelius (vice chair), personal deputy Klara Fischer
Ann-Christin Wästljung, personal deputy Magnus Karlsson
Leonard Sandin, personal deputy Holger Kirchman
Göran Hartman, personal deputy Joachim de Miranda

Read about the election preparations in Resurs

Group responsible for recruiting a new vice-chancellor

Sara Hallin has been selected to represent the NJ Faculty as a member of the recruitment group responsible for appointing a new vice-chancellor. Pär Forslund is the personal deputy.

10-year anniversary

The Swedish Centre for Nature Interpretation (SCNI) is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year.

New appointment procedures for teachers

SLU has new appointment procedures. See anstallningsordning-for-larare-vid-SLU-180219.pdf (only available in Swedish at the moment – an English version is coming soon).

Page editor: