

SLU:S SAMLADE STUDENTKÅRER

Notes from SLU's board meeting June 16th at Krusenberg

Main points on the agenda for the board meeting were:

- As of the 1st of May 2017 SLU has a new board and this was our first meeting. New members are Kristin Danielsen, international director at The Research Council of Norway, professor Yngvild Wasteson, NMBU Norway and Susanna Löfgren, the county of Jämtland. New representatives elected by the researchers and teachers are professor Jan Bengtsson, professor Ingrid Sarlöv-Herlin and assistant professor Göran Spong.
- General guidelines on how the board will function during meetings and in-between meetings were discussed and decided upon. The student representatives argued for more video meeting but the idea was rejected.
- Karin Holmgren informed the board of changes in the programs SLU will offer next year. The main differences compared to previous year are four new master programs in Sustainable Food Systems, Plant Biology, Horticultural Plant Science, and Landscape Architecture for Sustainable Urbanism. Also no students will be admitted to the horticultural program in Alnarp but it will still be possible to take a horticultural degree from SLU.
- The staff survey (Medarbetarundersökningen) revealed that researchers feel they have an unsecure financial situation and position at the university. Vice-chancellor Peter Högberg presented his idea and vision for financing higher academic positions. The intention with the new model is to increase the security. In the presented model professors would be financed by the university (statsanslagen) by 30%, assistant professors by 20%, and researchers (associate professors/docents) by 20%.
- SLU Holding presented their annual report (årsredovisning).
- The board decided who should be given the honorary medals (förtjänstmedaljer). It is now official that Janken Myrdal, Cecilia Waldenström, and Elin Röös will be honored this year.

Maria Karlsson Chairperson SLUSS PhD student council