Fakulteten för naturresurser och jordbruksvetenskap Chair of the Election Committee **LETTER** 

2024-06-17

## Invitation to nominate candidates as members prior to election to a new Faculty Board 2025-2027

Those who are entitled to vote\* within the NJ-faculty shall, this autumn, elect eight members and two substitutes to the Faculty Board 2025-2027. Among the eight members, the chair (Dean) and deputy chair (Deputy Dean) of the Board should be elected.

The election committee therefore invites you all to nominate candidates as members of the Faculty Board. The last day for nominations is Monday September 9 2024.

Send your nominations to valberedning.nj@slu.se

The nominations shall include:

- 1. Certification that the persons nominated have agreed to the nomination.
- 2. Whether the nominations are for member, substitute, or to Dean or Deputy Dean
- 3. Attachment with:
  - a one page CV of the candidate,
  - the name or names of the person(s) nominating each candidate, and
  - a short description (max two A4 pages) of why the candidate is standing for election to the Faculty Board, and which questions she/he wishes to work with"

The election committee is looking forward to receive many nominations so that we have the possibility to propose a Faculty Board composed by the diversity and competence needed.

The election committee will present its proposal on October 1. Nomination of additional candidates is then invited. The nomination deadline is October 8. The election rules, election committee's proposal and details of additional, nominated candidates standing for election will be distributed to those entitled to vote no later than 10 days before the election.

A digital hearing with the candidates will be arranged during the period 22-24 October. The election will take place during the period 21-29 October.

The NJ Faculty election committee (2024-05-01-2027-04-30) has the following members:

Member	Substitute
Sara Bergek, Chair	Anna Schnürer
Anders Hafrén, vice Chair	Marcos Lana
Jesper Larsson	Björn Lindahl
Göran Hartman	Pernilla Tidåker
Pia Nilsson	Wenche Eide
Karin Hamnér	Anna Berlin
Willem Goedkoop	Lovisa Nilsson

Welcome with your nominations!

With best regards,

The NJ-faculty Election Committee

- \* Explanation of those who are "entitled to vote" Excerpt from SLU Board's delegation of authority
- 4. Faculty electoral assemblies and voting rights at faculty board elections
- 4.1 Composition

In order to be part of a faculty electoral assembly, an employee must

- work at least 50% of a full-time job
- Be permanent or continuous for at least two years
- The employee must hold the position of professor, senior lecturer, associate senior lecturer, researcher<sup>1</sup>, environmental assessment specialist, post-doctor, lecturer, analyst, research group leader, experiment group leader, field mycologist or field pathologist.
- 4.2 Voting rights at faculty board elections

During faculty board elections, the following people are entitled to vote:

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Including those called *Forskare FLK* 

- a) the faculty electoral assembly;
- b) those with a doctorate who are employed at a faculty.

For both a) and b) the employment shall

- Cover at least 50% of a full-time job
- Be permanent or continuous for at least two years.

## Other information

Excerpt from the SLU Board's delegation of authority regarding general duties of the faculty boards:

All faculties must conduct their operations in accordance with the vision "SLU plays a key role in development for sustainable life, based on science and education" and the mission statement "SLU conducts education, research and environmental monitoring and assessment in collaboration with society at large. Through our focus on the interaction between humans, animals and ecosystems and the responsible use of natural resources, we contribute to sustainable societal development and good living conditions on our planet".

And specifically the NJ Faculty:

The Faculty of Natural Resources and Agricultural Sciences (the NJ Faculty) is based in Uppsala. The faculty board has eleven members. Eight members and two deputies are appointed by the eligible voters at the faculty. Three members are appointed by Sluss.

The faculty is responsible for research, education and EMA within the fields of agriculture and rural development. This takes place with close external collaboration and is carried out at both national and international level. The faculty is also responsible for cultivation systems, plant breeding and plant protection together with the Faculty of Landscape Architecture, Horticulture and Crop Production Science and the Faculty of Forest Sciences. The university as a whole is responsible for issues relating to the environment, health, quality of life, food, water and production.

## **Fees**

SLU has previously paid a fee to SLU-employed members of the faculty board and members of the academic appointments board (LFN). This ceased from 1 January 2022 as decided by the Vice-Chancellor (SLU ID:SLU.ua.2021.1.1.1-1525).