Election to the Faculty Board

Last changed: 09 December 2021

On this page, we gather information regarding the election for the new Faculty Board at the S-faculty, which will take place during autumn. The content will be updated continuously.

By-election at the Faculty of Forest Sciences

Proposal from the nomination committee: Ove Nilsson

Election results

The vice Chancellor will decide on Dean and Deputy Dean on November 17.

Protocol (In Swedish Only)

Dean: Göran Ericsson

Deputy Dean: Pernilla Christensen

Members: Ola Lindroos, Torgny Näsholm, Johan Stendahl, Charlotta Erefur, Rosario García Gil, Frauke Ecke

First Deputy: Elias Andersson

Second Deputy: Vilis Brukas

Hearing new faculty board

Proposal from the nomination committee

This autumn there will be an election of a new Faculty Board. The nomination committee's task has been to submit proposals to the ten ordinary members/deputies to be appointed to the faculty board for the period 2022 - 2024. The nomination committee's proposal also includes candidates for the assignments as chair (dean) and vice chair (deputy dean) of the board.

The nomination committee's task has also been to take into consideration, subject distribution, geographical aspects, gender aspects and any other relevant factors, such as other committees at the faculty that require that the chair of a committee is a member or deputy member of the faculty board. The nomination committee has also considered the nominations received from the employees at the faculty in its final proposal.

The nomination committee has worked intensively during the autumn to develop the proposal for members of the new Faculty Board. We have strived for balance between younger and more senior researchers, between women and men, and between locations and research branches within the faculty. We have interviewed a large number of candidates and discussed with various representatives from the departments and committees at the faculty.

Base on this the nomination committee has decided to submit the following proposal for the composition of the faculty board regarding the term of office 2022 - 2024:

Chair (dean)

Professor Göran Ericsson

Vice chair (deputy dean)

Environmental Assessment Specialist Pernilla Christensen

Eight ordinary members/deputies

Senior Lecturer Elias Andersson

Professor Vilis Brukas

Senior Lecturer Frauke Ecke

Coordinator Charlotta Erefur 

Researcher Rosario Garcia Gil

Professor Ola Lindroos

Professor Torgny Näsholm

Researcher Johan Stendahl

Presentations of the candidates will be published on the Election web site no later than ten days before the election.

The nomination committee invites to additional nominations (free nominations), which means that those who are entitled to vote have the opportunity to nominate additional candidates than those proposed by the nomination committee, either as chair (dean), vice chair (deputy dean) or as a member/deputy. Freely nominated candidates may only be entered on the ballot paper if they have a PhD and have the scientific or artistic competence referred to in Chapter 2, § 6 of the Swedish Higher Education Act (1992:1434).

Nomination of additional candidates must be made on the attached form (Appendix 1). As stated in the form, the person nominated in this way must have been asked and accepted the nomination. The instructions on the form also state that the nominee must be presented. The presentation must be submitted in a Swedish and an English version and include a maximum of one A4 page. It shall contain the following headings:

Name, Employment, Department, Undergraduate education, Worked at SLU since, Other assignments internally/externally, Important future issues for the faculty, How I will contribute to the new faculty board and Some personal lines.

The presentations will be published on the web before the election period. A complete CV or list of publications must not be submitted. Please note that previously nominated candidates who are not included in the nomination committee's proposal must be nominated again by using the attached form to be listed on the ballot paper.

Nomination form, including presentation in Swedish and English is sent to valberedningen.sfak@slu.se and must be received by the nomination committee no later than 10 October 2021.

The election period is Monday 25 October to Tuesday 2 November 2021 and is held via the electronic system. The candidates have the opportunity to present themselves at a digital hearing Wednesday 27 October 13:00-15:00. Further information about the election will be made available to those entitled to vote no later than ten days before the election period.

Invitation to nominate candidates to a new Faculty Board at the S-faculty 2022-2024

Those entitled to vote within the S-faculty will during this autumn elect eight members and two deputies to the Faculty Board regarding the period 2022-2024. Among the eight ordinary members, the chairperson (dean) and vice chairperson (deputy dean) are also appointed.

In a first nomination procedure, all employees at the S-faculty are invited to nominate candidates, including those who are not entitled to vote in the elections this autumn.

Nominations are sent to valberedningen.sfak@slu.se in accordance with the criteria set out in the invitation from the S-faculty’s nomination committee no later than August 31. Read the invitation here.

After the nomination period, the nomination committee will present a proposal for a new Faculty Board which will be presented to those entitled to vote on October 4. Thereafter, the nomination committee invites those entitled to vote to submit additional nominations. The election rules, the election committee’s proposal and information on additional nominated candidates will be announced to those entitled to vote no later than ten days before the election. Information will also be published on this site.

A digital hearing with all candidates will be arranged during the period 26-28 October. The exact date will be announced later. The election period takes place during 25 October – 2 November.

The nomination committee at the S-faculty

The nomination committee at the S-faculty for the term of office 1 June 2021 – 31 May 2024 has been appointed by the Faculty Board after suggestion from the former nomination committee.

Ordinary members and personal deputies in parentheses:

  • Sandra Jämtgård, chairperson, Forest Ecology and Management (Dan Bergström, Forest Biomaterials and Technology).
  • Åke Olson, vice chairperson, Forest Mycology and Plant Pathology (Helena Bylund, Ecology).
  • Therese Löfroth, Wildlife, Fish and Environmental Studies (Giulia Attocchi, Southern Swedish Forest Research Centre).
  • Jonas Fridman, forest resource management (Back Tomas Ersson, School for Forest Management).
  • Cecilia Mark Herbert, forest economics (Francisco Aguilár, Forest Economics).