Last changed: 28 October 2022

Below you will find some terms frequently used within education at SLU.


The examiner is responsible for ensuring that the course content and level complies with the specified course syllabus. The examiner determines the grading criteria and is responsible for assessing the performance of the students. The examiner signs grading decisions (documentation to Ladok). The course web page (or equivalent) will indicate the examiner for each course.

Read more about examination.


Activities at SLU are divided into four faculties. Read more about SLU's faculties.

Course coordinating department

The course coordinating department (or equivalent) is responsible for the provision of a course. In addition to the course coordinating department, there may be one or more departments (or equivalent) with joint responsibility that are involved in the provision of the course.

Course leader

The course leader is the teacher or other employee at SLU with operational responsibility for the provision of the course. The course leader may be a teacher or another employee at a different university in the case of a contracted course. The contact details of the course leader must be available to the students. The same person can be both the examiner and the course leader.


SLU employs teachers as professors (including adjunct professor and visiting professors), senior lecturers (including adjunct senior lecturers), assistant senior lecturers, and lecturers (including adjunct lecturers). In everyday language, however, the term teacher is often used to refer to all teaching staff.


Student refers to someone who has been admitted to and studies in higher education, while doctoral student means a student who has been admitted to and studies in doctoral education.

Only admitted students have a right to participate in a course. If you are admitted on a degree programme, this does not automatically mean that you are admitted on all courses within that programme. All students must fulfil the specific entry requirements that apply to each individual course before they can be admitted on the course.

Those who have been accepted as a student on a student exchange at SLU (at Bachelor's or Master's level) are degree programme students for the duration of the exchange period. In contrast, students in contract education are not covered by the regulations for education at Bachelor's and Master's level.

Director of studies

The director of studies with overall responsibility for one or more degree programmes is called the programme director of studies. He or she is delegated tasks by the programme board that is responsible for the respective degree programme.

There is also usually a director of studies with responsibility for education at Bachelor's and Master's level at each department. He or she is often called the director of studies, departmental director of studies, or director of undergraduate studies (or equivalent) and is delegated tasks by the head of department.

Subject, main field of study

Courses at SLU are classified into different subjects. Some subjects are referred to as main fields of study (formerly main subjects) and they form the basis for general degrees.

The following are SLU's main fields of study:

  • Agricultural science
  • Animal science
  • Biology
  • Business administration
  • Chemistry
  • Communications science
  • Economics
  • Environmental science
  • Equine science
  • Food science
  • Forest management
  • Forest science
  • History
  • Horticultural science
  • Interdisciplinarity
  • Landscape architecture
  • Landscape planning
  • Law
  • Leadership and organisation
  • Mathematical statistics
  • Mathematics/Applied mathematics
  • Pedagogics
  • Physics
  • Rural development
  • Science
  • Soil science
  • Statistics
  • Technology
  • Veterinary medicine
  • Veterinary nursing



Abbreviations used in documents about education at SLU:

  • Ells – The Euroleague for Life Sciences
  • ECTS – European Credit Transfer System
  • Nova – The Nordic Forestry, Veterinary and Agricultural University Network
  • Sluss – The Joint Committee of Student Unions at the Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences
  • SUHF – The Association of Swedish Higher Education
  • UHR – The Swedish Council for Higher Education
  • UKÄ – The Swedish Higher Education Authority