Areas of responsibility and support

Last changed: 22 September 2017

The Vice-Chancellor is responsible for the university's education at doctoral level, and in that capacity has approved the rules in the university guidelines for doctoral education. The Council for PhD Education at SLU (FUR), which consists of representatives of the faculty boards and of the doctoral students, contributed to the preparation of the guidelines.

All operational decisions are delegated to the relevant faculty board. Decisions by a faculty board are prepared by a doctoral education committee. The only exception is withdrawal of the right to supervision and other educational resources under The Higher Education Ordinance, Chapter 6 Section 30.

Directors of PhD studies in faculty offices and contact persons in departments are also involved in doctoral education.

Contact persons at the LTV faculty
Contact persons at the NJ faculty
Contact persons at the S faculty
Contact persons at the VH faculty

The doctoral student ombudsman/counsellor provides individual support and counselling for students, and works to find solutions to problems that may arise in the position as a doctoral student.

PhD student councils work to improve the doctoral education and safeguard the interests of students in decisions at all levels. They also arrange social and education-related activates such as lunch seminars and "after work" activities.


Directors of study at the LTV-faculty:

Helene Larsson Jönsson, Alnarp. Phone: 040-415370. 
Åsa Klintborg Ahlklo, Alnarp. Phone: 040-415421.

Directors of study at the NJ-faculty:

Elisabet Lewan, Uppsala, Phone: 018-67 26 29
Petra Fransson, Uppsala, Phone: 018-67 18 64

Directors of study at the S-faculty:

Göran Spong, Umeå. Phone: 0730-350641
Petra Fransson, Uppsala. Phone: 018-67 18 64

Director of study at the VH-faculty:

Jan Hultgren, Skara. Phone: 0511-67103


General information on doctoral education: Lotta HanssonLotta Jäderlund